
AFFIDAVIT AND REQUEST TO TAKE 

DRIVING SAFETY COURSE

Your name: _________________________     



Citation # _____________________
The above named defendant, having been duly sworn upon oath states the following:

1.
I have not completed nor am I currently taking or approved to take a Driving Safety Course (under Article 45.0511 Code of Criminal Procedure) for traffic citation issued within one year of the date of the citation and that is not reflected on my driving record.

2.
I do have a TEXAS DRIVER’S LICENSE OR PERMIT.

3.
I have a vehicle insurance policy, a certificate of self-insurance or a financial responsibility certificate. IMPORTANT NOTE:  Your request for Defensive Driving will be denied, unless you submit proof that you are INSURED as required by law. THE PROOF MUST BE ATTACHED TO THIS AFFIDAVIT. PHOTOCOPIES ONLY. ORIGINALS WILL NOT BE RETURNED.

4.
I will provide a certified copy of my five (5) year driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety before I take the course.  Once the Court receives your request for driving safety course, an application for your driving record will be handed/mailed to you – courtesy of the Court.

Based upon the foregoing, I hereby waive trial by jury, enter a plea of Nolo Contendere and request that the Court defer proceedings for 90 days so that I may complete an approved Driving Safety Course.  I understand that I MUST COMPLETE and RETURN an ORIGINAL COURT CERTIFICATE showing that I have completed a Driving Safety Course which is approved by the Texas Driver and Traffic Safety Act (Article 4413(29c), Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes) to the Court no later than 90 days from the citation was issued to me.


Defendant Signature: * ___________________________________________________

            Print Name as Shown


On Driver’s License:
____________________________________________________

            Defendant’s Mailing Address: _____________________________________________

            City _____________________________ State ________________ Zip ____________


Telephone # _____________________________ TX DL # ______________________









Sworn to and subscribed before me,









This _________________ day of

____________________,  ______

________________________



________________________________

My Commission Expires




Notary Public of State of Texas

Justice Court Clerk, Precinct Three
Atascosa County, Texas
*Signature must be notarized.

